Croatia has been crowned Egypt International Capital Cup champions after beating the Pharaohs 4-2 in the final on Tuesday.

Egypt qualified for the final of the Egypt International Capital Cup after beating New Zealand 1-0, while Croatia overcame Tunisia on penalties following a 0-0 draw.

Hossam Hassan made just one change to the squad that beat New Zealand, with Akram Tawfik replacing the injured Emam Ashour in midfield.

Meanwhile, Croatia manager Zlatko Dalić made seven changes as Luka Modric partnered Marcelo Brozovic in midfield and Bruno Petković led the attack.

Egypt XI: Mohamed Abou-Gabal, Mohamed Hany, Mohamed Abdelmonem, Rami Rabia, Mohamed Hamdi; Akram Tawfik, Marwan Ateya, Afsha; Omar Marmoush, Trezegeuet, Mostafa Mohamed.

Croatia XI: Nediljko Labrovic, Josip Stanisic, Domagoj Vida, Marin Pongracic, Josko Gvardiol; Nikola Vlasic, Luka Modric, Marcelo Brozovic; Lovro Majer, Marko Pjaca, Bruno Petkovic.

The Pharaohs started on the right foot and threatened the 2018 World Cup runner-ups on more than one occasion, taking the lead through Rami Rabia after just six minutes.

A powerful free-kick from Trezeguet was brilliantly denied by Nediljko Labrovic for Mohamed Hamdi to play a low cross into the edge of the six-yard box, which Rami Rabia easily tapped in.

Croatia dominated the game afterwards as Abougabal denied a header from Vida, before Mostafa Mohamed missed a clear one-on-one chance with the keeper as his effort hit the post.

In the 21st minute, Croatia managed to find the equaliser through Nikola Vlasic, whose effort from the edge of the box beat Abougabal after hitting the bar.

Croatia had two clear-cut chances to score again in the first-half, but both Majer and Petkovic couldn’t find the back of the net for both teams to head into the break on level.

At half-time, Hossam Hassan brought on Ahmed Nabil Kouka for Akram Tawfik, while Mateo Kovacic and keeper Dominik Kotarski came on for Croatia.

The second-half was all Croatia as Bruno Petkovic put them ahead in the 57th minute with a header from Modric’s corner, before Andrej Kramaric made it three with another header in the 77th minute.

Before Croatia’s third goal, Mostafa Fathi replaced Afsha, while Modric and Gavadriol were subbed off.

In the 79th minute, Mohamed Sherif, Mohamed El-Shamy, Mostafa Shalaby, and Ahmed Atef for Mostafa Mohamed, Trezeguet, Marmoush, and Marwan Ateya.

Lovro Majer killed off the tie with a fourth goal in the 86th minute, before Mohamed Abdelmonem scored a late consolation goal to end the game 4-2 in favour of the Croatian side.